(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-81120029-1', 'auto'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); var match = RegExp('[?&]gclid=([^&]*)').exec(window.location.search); var gclid = match && decodeURIComponent(match[1].replace(/\+/g, ' ')); if(gclid){ ga('set', 'dimension1', gclid); } ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '15 seconds')", 15000);

Porter

  Porter is probably one of the most famous beer styles worldwide. Dark malts give the Porter its characteristic roasted and aromatic taste. This beer combines intense aromas of coffee,... read more »
Close window
Porter

 

Porter is probably one of the most famous beer styles worldwide. Dark malts give the Porter its characteristic roasted and aromatic taste. This beer combines intense aromas of coffee, cocoa, sweet and bitter chocolate or rye bread.

Beer style facts: Porter

  • Appearance: Brown to jet black.
  • Aroma: Roasted aromatic. With sometimes very strong notes of coffee, rye bread, burnt bread crust, cocoa, (bitter) chocolate. Full-bodied, partly hoppy, partly roasty bitter.
  • Alcohol: 4-7%.
  • Classic Beer: Fuller's London Porter

From Porter to Stout and back

The name "Porter" comes from the first group of customers in the early 18th century, with whom Porter beers became very popular: the porters on the streets and in the ports of London, known as "Porter". The use of many dark malts made porter beers an adequate source of calories for the workers to compensate for the hard physical work. Porter also had a longer shelf life and a more stable taste due to an increased hop content. 
The name "Stout" is closely linked to the origin of the porter. A "Stout Porter" is simply a strong porter - and "Stout" is therefore a synonym for "strong". Only later did the Stout beer style develop from this connection. 
Porter is still an incredibly popular beer style today. By the middle of the 19th century it was already available on six continents, either as an export product or as locally brewed beer. Porter is an integral part of what English and Irish pubs offer. Porter and Stout can coexist without any problems. And are used synonymously as style names in everyday life.


And what does Porter taste like?


The focus is on roasted aromatic malt flavors. Very common are notes of coffee, cocoa or dark chocolate. The body can vary depending on the alcohol content. Classic is a slight to distinct bitterness in the finish. Some breweries additionally brew porter with lactose or vanilla to give the beer a creamy and soft mouthfeel. 
Porter are also particularly suitable for adding coffee, cocoa or chocolate. Porter with winter spices are also common, especially cinnamon or cardamom. In addition, berries or fruits are also found as ingredients in these beers. They expand the taste world of the porter and perfectly complement the dark malt flavor.
To intensify these aromas and flavors, many breweries store (Imperial) Porter in barrels. Bourbon, sherry or rum barrels are very common. Depending on the barrel, the characteristics of the respective beer change. 

The Estonian brewery Põhjala is considered one of the breweries in Europe specializing in strong porter. Its core range porter Must Kuld is a Baltic Porter brewed with lactose (i.e. in contrast to the classic porter it is fermented with bottom-fermented yeast) and is already a classic in the field. 
Besides you can find not only porter of the Estonian brewery at Beyond Beer, but also other beers of this style in our offer. Let us surprise you with the variety of this beer style!

 

WENIGER
Close filters
from to
from to
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
No results were found for the filter!
Northern Monk Northern Star (Chocolate Caramel Biscuit Edition)

Porter

Northern Monk Northern Star (Chocolate Caramel...

Northern Monk

€3.79 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€11.48 * / 1 Liter)
Out of Stock Remember
Põhjala Õhtu (Dose) Porter

Porter

Põhjala Õhtu

Põhjala

€3.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€12.09 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Sierra Nevada Porter

Porter

Sierra Nevada Porter

Sierra Nevada Brewing

€2.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.355 Liter (€8.42 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Magic Rock Common Grounds

Porter

Magic Rock Common Grounds

Magic Rock Brewing

€2.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€9.06 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Riedenburger Dolden Dark Porter

Porter

Riedenburger Dolden Dark

Riedenburger Brauhaus

€1.99 * plus €0.08 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€6.03 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Põhjala Must Kuld Porter Bottle

Porter

Põhjala Must Kuld

Põhjala

€3.79 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€11.48 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Landgang Brauerei Dunkle Macht Porter

Porter

Landgang Dunkle Macht

Landgang Brauerei

€2.69 * plus €0.08 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€8.15 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
BRLO Baltic Porter Berlin bestellen und online kaufen

Porter

BRLO Baltic Porter

BRLO

€2.79 * plus €0.08 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€8.45 * / 1 Liter)
Remember

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-81120029-1', 'auto'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '15 seconds')", 15000);

Porter

Porter ist wohl einer bekanntesten Bierstile weltweit. Dunkle Malze verleihen dem Porter seinen charakteristischen, röstaromatischen Geschmack. In diesem Bier vereinen sich intensive Aromen von... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Porter

Porter ist wohl einer bekanntesten Bierstile weltweit. Dunkle Malze verleihen dem Porter seinen charakteristischen, röstaromatischen Geschmack. In diesem Bier vereinen sich intensive Aromen von Kaffee, Kakao, süßer und bitterer Schokolade oder Roggenbrot.

 

Vom Porter zum Stout und zurück

Die Bezeichnung „Porter“ stammt von der ersten Kundengruppe im frühen 18. Jahrhundert, bei denen Porter-Biere große Popularität erlangten: Den Gepäckträgern auf den Straßen und in den Häfen von London, eben sogenannte „Porter“. Durch die Verwendung vieler dunkler Malze waren Porter für die Arbeiter_innen eine adäquate Kalorienquelle, um die schwere körperliche Arbeit kompensieren zu können. Porter waren zudem länger durch einen erhöhten Hopfenanteil länger haltbar und stabil im Geschmack. 

Die Bezeichnung „Stout“ ist eng mit der Entstehung des Porter verbunden. Ein „Stout Porter“ ist einfach ein alkoholstarkes Porter – und „Stout“ damit ein Synonym für „stark“. Erst später entwickelte sich der Bierstil Stout aus dieser Verbindung. 

Porter ist bis heute ein unglaublich populärer Bierstil. Bereits Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts war er auf sechs Kontinenten verfügbar, entweder als Exportgut oder als lokal gebrautes Bier. Porter sind integraler Bestandteil des Angebots in englischen oder irischen Pubs. Porter und Stout können problemlos nebeneinander existieren. Und werden als Stilbezeichnungen im alltäglichen Umgang synonym gebraucht.

 

Und wie schmeckt Porter?

Im Mittelpunkt stehen röstaromatische Malzaromen. Sehr gängig sind Noten von Kaffee, Kakao oder Bitterschokolade. Der Körper kann je nach Alkoholgehalt variieren. Klassisch ist eine leichte bis deutliche Bitterkeit im Abgang. Manche Brauereien brauen Porter zusätzlich mit Laktose oder Vanille, um dem Bier ein cremiges und weiches Mundgefühl zu geben. 

Porter eignen sich zudem besonders gut für die Zugabe von Kaffee, Kakao oder Schokolade. Auch Porter mit winterlichen Gewürzen sind gängig, insbesondere Zimt oder Kardamom. Daneben finden sich auch Beeren oder Früchte als Zutaten in diesen Bieren. Sie erweitern die Geschmackswelt des Porter und ergänzen die dunkle Malzaromatik perfekt.

Um diese Aromen und Geschmacksrichtungen zu intensivieren, lagern viel Brauereien (Imperial) Porter in Fässern. Sehr gängig sind Bourbon-, Sherry- oder Rumfässer. Je nach Fass verändert sich so die Charakteristik des jeweiligen Biers. 

 Die estnische Brauerei Põhjala gilt als eine der auf starke Porter spezialisierte Brauereien in Europa. Ihr Core Range Porter Must Kuld ist ein mit Laktose gebrautes Baltic Porter (d.h. im Gegensatz zum klassischen Porter ist es mit untergäriger Hefe vergoren) und bereits ein Klassiker auf dem Gebiet. 

Daneben findet ihr nicht nur Porter der estnischen Brauerei bei Beyond Beer, sondern auch andere Bier dieses Stils in unserem Angebot. Lasst Euch von der Vielfalt dieses Bierstils überraschen!

 

WENIGER
Filter schließen
von bis
von bis
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Sierra Nevada Porter

Porter

Sierra Nevada Porter

Sierra Nevada Brewing

2,99 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,355 Liter (8,42 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Põhjala Õhtu

Porter

Põhjala Õhtu

Põhjala

3,69 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,33 Liter (11,18 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Põhjala Must Kuld Porter Flasche

Porter

Põhjala Must Kuld

Põhjala

3,79 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,33 Liter (11,48 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Landgang Brauerei Dunkle Macht Porter

Porter

Landgang Dunkle Macht

Landgang Brauerei

2,69 € * zzgl. 0,08 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,33 Liter (8,15 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
BRLO Baltic Porter Berlin bestellen und online kaufen

Porter

BRLO Baltic Porter

BRLO

2,79 € * zzgl. 0,08 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,33 Liter (8,45 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
  • Altersverifizierung

    Das Angebot unseres Onlineshops richtet sich an Personen, die mindestens 18 Jahre alt sind.
    Bitte bestätigen Sie Ihr Alter, um fortzufahren.

    Hiermit bestätige ich, dass ich mindestens 18 Jahre alt bin.