(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-81120029-1', 'auto'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); var match = RegExp('[?&]gclid=([^&]*)').exec(window.location.search); var gclid = match && decodeURIComponent(match[1].replace(/\+/g, ' ')); if(gclid){ ga('set', 'dimension1', gclid); } ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '15 seconds')", 15000);

Barley Wine

A Barley Wine is a style of beer that, with its malty body and increased alcohol content, is one of the more intense beers. The colour ranges from caramel brown to chestnut brown. The bitterness... read more »
Close window
Barley Wine

A Barley Wine is a style of beer that, with its malty body and increased alcohol content, is one of the more intense beers. The colour ranges from caramel brown to chestnut brown. The bitterness of this beer is also higher than usual. For this, a Barley Wine is perfectly suited for aging.

Beer style facts: Barley Wine

  • Appearance: Amber to deep brown.
  • Aroma: Very malty and strong. Often sweet and full-bodied flavor. With notes of caramel, toffee, dried fruit, orange, bread or molasses. A pleasant hop bitterness rounds out the flavor.
  • Alcohol: Mostly between 9-13%. Sometimes even stronger, rarely lower.
  • Classic Beer: Anchor Brewing Old Foghorn 

What is Barley Wine?

No, Barley Wine is not wine, not even barely wine. This style of beer is brewed in the typical way of beer with a lot of barley malt. Even so much that an extremely high gravity is produced, which is responsible for an increased alcohol content. It is not unusual for a Barley Wine to contain between 7% and even more than 13% alcohol. The strong, intensive malt body is characteristic of a Barley Wine. Caramel and freshly baked bread or dark biscuits, sometimes also chocolate, are dominant in the body. The hop aroma tends towards herbs and dried fruit such as plums or raisins. A distinct bitterness and high IBU serves as a contrast to the malty beer body.

The beer style originally comes from England and was in fact brewed as a wine substitute, as the English could not get wine from France due to a war and could not grow their own wine due to the harsh climate in England. But since beer was generally the most important drink of the British and brewing beer has always been an important economic factor, a suitable and above all alcohol-rich alternative was simply brewed. The Barley Wine was born.

In many breweries, such as Põhjala, known for dark and strong beers, a Barley Wine is not stored in barrels for several months. Bourbon, Scotch or other wooden barrels are particularly popular. The transferring aroma of the barrels makes the beer appear even more complex and intense. But many other craft beer breweries also have Barley Wines in their range.
Due to the high alcohol content and the proper gravity, a Barley Wine can be aged for several years in a dark cellar. Through correct storage the beer can change its character and become drier in body and develop towards port or sherry.

A Barley Wine is particularly suitable for food pairing. Suitable cheeses are old Gouda, intensive Cheddar, Stilton or blue cheese. But also carrot cake or brownies, cheesecake and dark chocolate go well with this beer style.


Order Barley Wine at Beyond Beer


With us you get this special beer style from different breweries. The special beer style is perfect as a gift, for special occasions or for storage in your own beer cellar. Especially in winter the beer tastes great. Take a look at our online Craft Beer offer at Barley Wine and let us convince you of the intensity and variety of the beer style.

 
WENIGER
Close filters
from to
from to
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
No results were found for the filter!
NEW
Popihn Barley W. - Bourbon BA 14 Mois Barley Wine

Barley Wine

Popihn Barley W. - Bourbon BA 14 Mois

Brasserie Popihn

€7.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.44 Liter (€18.16 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Cloudwater Duck! Barley Wine

Barley Wine

Cloudwater Duck!

Cloudwater

€10.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.44 Liter (€24.98 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Sierra Nevada Trip in the Woods: Vintage Bigfoot

Barley Wine

Sierra Nevada Trip in the Woods: Vintage Bigfoot

Sierra Nevada Brewing

€24.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.75 Liter (€33.32 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Lervig Hipster For Christmas Bourbon BA Barleywine

Barley Wine

Lervig Hipster For Christmas BA (2020)

Lervig

€13.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€42.39 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Lervig Paragon 2019 Barley Wine

Barley Wine

Lervig Paragon 2019

Lervig

€19.99 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.33 Liter (€60.58 * / 1 Liter)
Remember
Sierra Nevada Bigfoot

Barley Wine

Sierra Nevada Bigfoot

Sierra Nevada Brewing

€4.29 * plus €0.25 deposit
Content 0.355 Liter (€12.08 * / 1 Liter)
Remember

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-81120029-1', 'auto'); ga('set', 'forceSSL', true); ga('set', 'anonymizeIp', true); ga('require', 'cleanUrlTracker'); ga('require', 'ec'); var match = RegExp('[?&]gclid=([^&]*)').exec(window.location.search); var gclid = match && decodeURIComponent(match[1].replace(/\+/g, ' ')); if(gclid){ ga('set', 'dimension1', gclid); } ga('send', 'pageview'); ga('set', 'nonInteraction', true); setTimeout("ga('send', 'event', 'read', '15 seconds')", 15000);

Barley Wine - der starke und malzige Bierstil für ganz besondere Anlässe

  Ein Barley Wine ist ein Bierstil, der mit seinem malzigen Körper und dem erhöhten Alkoholgehalt zu den intensiveren Bieren gehört. Die Farbe geht von Karamell-Braun bis hin zu... mehr erfahren »
Fenster schließen
Barley Wine - der starke und malzige Bierstil für ganz besondere Anlässe

 

Ein Barley Wine ist ein Bierstil, der mit seinem malzigen Körper und dem erhöhten Alkoholgehalt zu den intensiveren Bieren gehört. Die Farbe geht von Karamell-Braun bis hin zu Kastanienbraun. Auch die Bitterkeit ist bei diesem Bier höher, als gewöhnlich. Dafür eignet sich ein Barley Wine hervorragend zur Lagerung.

Bierstil Fakten: Barley Wine

  • Aussehen: Bernstein bis tiefbraun.
  • Aromatik: Sehr malzbetont und kräftig. Oftmals süßlich und vollmundig im Geschmack. Mit Noten von Karamell, Toffee, Dörrobst, Orange, Brot oder Melasse. Eine angenehme Hopfenbitterkeit rundet den Geschmack ab.
  • Alkohol: Meistens zwischen 9-13%. Teilweise sogar stärker, selten geringer.
  • Der Stil-Klassiker: Anchor Brewing Old Foghorn

Was ist Barley Wine?

Nein, das Barley Wine ist kein Wein, auch nicht "barely Wine". Dieser Bierstil wird ganz Bier-typisch mit sehr viel Gerstenmalz (Englisch: barley) gebraut. Sogar so viel, dass eine extrem hohe Stammwürze entsteht, die für einen erhöhten Alkoholgehalt verantwortlich ist. Nicht selten kann ein Barley Wine zwischen 7% und gerne auch jenseits der 13% Alkohol liegen. Dabei ist der starke, intensive Malzkörper charakteristisch für ein Barley Wine. Karamell und frisch gebackenes Brot oder dunkle Kekse, manchmal auch Schokolade, sind dominant im Körper. Die Hopfen-Aromatik tendiert zu Kräutern und Dörrobst wie Pflaume, oder Rosinen. Ein deutliche Bitterkeit und hohe IBU dient als Kontrast zum malzigen Bierkörper. 

Der Bierstil kommt ursprünglich aus England und wurde in der Tat als Wein-Ersatz gebraut, da die Engländer keine Wein aus Frankreich aufgrund eines Kriegs mehr bekommen und wegen des rauhen Klimas in England keinen eigenen Wein anbauen konnten. Da Bier aber generell das wichtigste Getränk der Briten war und das Bierbrauen von jeher ein wichtiger Wirtschaftsfaktor war, wurde einfach eine passende und vor allem Alkohol starke Alternative gebraut. Das Barley Wine war geboren.

Barley Wine - perfekt für die Fasslagerung

Bei vielen Brauereien, wie zum Beispiel Põhjala, die bekannt für dunkle und starke Biere sind, wird ein Barley Wine nicht für mehrere Monate in Fässern gelagert. Besonders beliebt sind Bourbon, Scotch oder andere Holzfässer. Die übertragende Aromatik der Fässer lässt das Bier noch komplexer und intensiver erscheinen. Aber auch viele andere Craft Beer Brauereien haben Barley Wines im Sortiment.

Aufgrund des hohen Alkoholgehalts und der ordentlichen Stammwürze kann ein Barley Wine gut und gerne für mehrere Jahre in einem dunklen Keller gelagert werden. Durch eine korrekte Lagerung kann das Bier seinen Charakter verändern und trockener im Körper werden und sich in Richtung Portwein oder Sherry entwickeln. 

Ein Barley Wine ist besonders für ein Food Pairing geeignet. Als Käse eigenen sich alter Gouda, intensiver Cheddar, Stilton oder Blauschimmelkäse. Aber auch Carrot Cake oder Brownies, Cheesecake und dunkle Schokolade passen zu diesem Bierstil.


Barley Wine bei Beyond Beer bestellen

Bei uns bekommt ihr diesen besonderen Bierstil von unterschiedlichen Brauereien. Der besondere Bierstil ist hervorragend geeignet als Geschenk, für besondere Anlässe oder zur Lagerung im eigenen Bierkeller. Vor allem im Winter schmeckt das Bier. Schaue dir hier unser Online Craft Beer Angebot an Barley Wine an und lasse dich von der Intensität und Vielfalt des Bierstils überzeugen. 

WENIGER
Filter schließen
von bis
von bis
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Für die Filterung wurden keine Ergebnisse gefunden!
Popihn Barley W. - Bourbon BA 14 Mois Barley Wine

Barley Wine

Popihn Barley W. - Bourbon BA 14 Mois

Brasserie Popihn

7,99 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,44 Liter (18,16 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Cloudwater Duck! Barley Wine

Barley Wine

Cloudwater Duck!

Cloudwater

10,99 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,44 Liter (24,98 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Sierra Nevada Trip in the Woods: Vintage Bigfoot

Barley Wine

Sierra Nevada Trip in the Woods: Vintage Bigfoot

Sierra Nevada Brewing

24,99 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,75 Liter (33,32 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Lervig Hipster For Christmas Bourbon BA Barleywine

Barley Wine

Lervig Hipster For Christmas BA (2020)

Lervig

13,99 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,33 Liter (42,39 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Lervig Paragon 2019 Barley Wine

Barley Wine

Lervig Paragon 2019

Lervig

19,99 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,33 Liter (60,58 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken
Sierra Nevada Bigfoot

Barley Wine

Sierra Nevada Bigfoot

Sierra Nevada Brewing

4,29 € * zzgl. 0,25 € Pfand
Inhalt 0,355 Liter (12,08 € * / 1 Liter)
Merken